Lionel Messi has won the 2019 Ballon d’or

Argentina’s Lionel Messi beat Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk, five-time winner Cristiano Ronaldo and Sadio Mane to win Monday’s Ballon record sixth.

Messi, who won the title of the Spanish la Liga last season with Barcelona as well as the European golden boot having scored 54 goals in all competitions in 58 games, won the award last year.

At the start of the season, he suffered an injury, but he’s back to his good shape and this season has been decisive for Barcelona.

Nevertheless, Lionel Messi did not enjoy success with the national team, losing semi-finals to Brazil’s rivals in the Copa America. Messi’s win also marks a return to Argentina’s and Ronaldo’s dominance, who have all but once won the award since 2007 between them.

Last year, when the Croat Luka Modric beat them, the monopoly of Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo in winning the ballon d’Or was broken.


Leave a Comment